GIRLS NAMES MIX // April 2011

Post punk junk to shoe gaze psych. Girls names put their hearts on their sleeves….

  1.  The Monochrome Set – Eine Symphonie des Grauens
  2. The Chills – Pink Frost
  3. Crystal Stilts – Flying into The Sun
  4. Felt – Crystal Ball
  5. The Associates – Boys Keep Swinging
  6. Scars – Obsessions
  7. Abe Vigoda – Dream of My Love (Chasing after You)
  8. Blank Dogs – Blurred Tonight
  9. Malaria! – You Turn To Run
  10. James Chance – Contort Yourself
  11. Palais Schaumburg – Wir Bauen eine neue Stadt
  12. Fire Engines – Candyskin (Peel Session)
  13. Echo and the Bunnymen – Back of Love
  14. Spectrum – How you Satisfy Me
  15. Television Personalities – The Painted Word
  16. Happy Refugees – Bury Me

GIRLS NAMES – MIX // April 2011 by SkinnyWolves

Forming in Belfast in January 2009 initially as a two-piece, Cathal Cully and Neil Brogan booked their first gig as Girls Names before they’d even played together. Expanding to a three piece some months later with the addition of Claire Miskimmin on bass, the band have effortlessly refined their own personal take on the early/mid eighties shadow world of Black Tambourine, Felt and the Sound of Young Scotland.

With their identity firmly established, debut album “Dead To Me” is the next step forward that delivers on the promise shown on previous releases. The song writing is more defined and the production values have been sharpened, representing a definitive break from the nonsensical lo-fi tag that has lazily followed them around by association. Recording for “Dead To Me” began in the last half of 2010, the band entering the studio with the conscious desire to make an old-fashioned style pop album, albeit one with a perverse haunted feel.

“Dead To Me” is released by Tough Love in UK/Europe on April 25 and by Slumberland Records in the US on April 26.



Skinny Wolves © 2017 All Rights Reserved

Cold Dark Sounds from the Underground

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress